Back home, then back home (which one’s home?), then London, then Portugal…phew..

Back to Canada!! So good to go home. So good to see my fam. And to see friends. I didn’t realize how much I needed a visit. There are certain things in life that really help you to recharge ๐Ÿ”‹ and spending time with the ones that love you โค๏ธ and the ones you love โค๏ธ is one that tops the list. ๐Ÿ“

Someone back home told me that the frantic nature that was my trip back, was what it was going to be like from now on, or at least for as long as I was living away. I never really thought about it but it’s probably true. From now on, visits home will be a whirlwind. ๐ŸŒช And whirlwind it definitely freaking was. But the best kind of whirlwind, cos it was fitting in all these amazing people that I miss terribly and love to death, but a total whirlwind, none the less!!

I was able to meet new babies ๐Ÿ‘ถ and visit growing ones, see work friends ๐Ÿ’† and gym friends ๐Ÿ’ช and childhood friends and adulthood friends and close pals from random places that I can’t remember where we’re even friends from anymore. I was able to spend quality time with my parents and sister, and luckily time with my aunts and uncles (and great aunts and uncles) and cousins and grandparents as well. I was able to train at my TRX gym and at my Muay Thai/kickboxing gym. I went to a wedding for a pal, (the reason for the trip!!) celebrated birthdays, and had patio and backyard and campground and sunroom sits. I saw a Cirque show. Went for a motorcycle ride. Visited my bike in pieces ๐Ÿ˜ญ. Went for drinks and for coffees, and lunches, and brunches, and dinners. Went to church. Visited a street market. Went for a dip in a friends pool. Ate my favourite homemade food (thanks mom!! โค๏ธ). It was a whirlwind, but with all amazing things. And awesome people.

Then the craziness continued. Home (as in Scotland, not Canada) for 2 days and then off to London!! ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง I came to get tattooed and my lovely friend Phoebe graciously agreed to come along for the adventure!! So much fun with a good friend!! The tattoos are gorgeous, and the company was magnificent!! Chill nights and days exploring in the sunshine..perfect!! ๐Ÿ‘Œ

I got tattooed by a rad dude named Dani Queipo. Ridiculously talented. He works in a shop off THE curry street in London, in the fashion district. At first the area seemed a little questionable, but there were so many ‘cool’ people everywhere (isn’t that every “trendy area” in big cities, might be sketchy, might be ultra-hip?! ๐Ÿ˜‚) . Very fashionable people. Made me feel suuuuper hip as I got food in a break during tattooing, wearing my bike shorts out and about.  Very avant-garde, right?! Haha. Starting trends, perhaps?!?! ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜‚

Saturday AM we met up with one of her gal pals in South Bank and sat in the sandbox (cos there’s a sandbox on the river bank..so rad, I’d say 50% adults, 50% children, haha, amazing ๐Ÿ˜†) for a minute, watching the river, the street performers, the skaters and the passers-by. We got food from venders at the street market and then sat in a park on the river edge enjoying our food and a Pimm’s. Pretty amazing start to a Saturday..

Moving on, we went to the Underbelly ๐Ÿฎ festival grounds for another pitcher of Pimm’s ๐Ÿน (kind of mandatory..we are in England on a sunny day..what else could we do?! ๐Ÿ˜‰). We (Phoebe, Dave, Car and I) went to an Underbelly bar at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival several years ago and it was amazing!! Freaking incredible. Coolest joint, went on forever, layer after layer, floor after floor. This one was not quite as cool, but we definitely had a good time. Walking around in jeans ๐Ÿ‘– on at 30+ degree day the day after being tattooed, however, not such a good time. I probably should’ve known better at this point. Haha. I’ve got enough of these things. But I soldiered on and we ventured to a boat bar ๐Ÿšข  on the Thames for one more ๐Ÿน before ending our afternoon London adventure (if you call sitting around outside in the sun having bevies and street food an adventure..which I totally do ๐Ÿ˜€).

Attending the Brick Lane Market the next day was an absolute highlight. Huuuuuuge market, full of cool shops, cool people, cool graffiti and cool buskers. There’s wicked street art ๐Ÿ–Œ in Shoreditch, and rad people-watching as well. A definite win. And we both walked away with goodies. Win, win, win, win. My fav thing we did all weekend, in a weekend of awesome things. 

All in all a fun, relaxing weekend with a great friend. Need to do more of these. ๐Ÿ’ž

A week later we (Car and I), jettsetted off to Portugal. Apparently this is my life now. ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿฝ Ridiculous. Gotta take advantage while we’re over here, and Car needed a vacay. ๐Ÿ˜ Flights direct to Faro are too cheap to pass up and the temp ๐ŸŒก is supposed to be hot hot hot. Sounds perfect. 4 nights in paradise. ๐ŸŒด Plans are to maybe to venture up to Lisbon, explore a bit..but we’ll see how it goes. We might just hibernate the whole time…

We definitely hibernated. Hahahaha. Our hotel was magnificent. Right on the ‘tourist central’ main drag, but set back so you couldn’t hear the hustle and bustle at all. Small place, maybe 20 or 30 rooms. Gorgeous pool, ๐ŸŠ๐Ÿฝโ€โ™€๏ธ the friendliest staff, great cocktails and even better food. Why leave?! ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿฝโ€โ™€๏ธ With all the travelling and craziness lately it was exactly what we both needed: to just sit and relax. I think naps ๐Ÿ’ค were a daily occurance (sometimes multiple a day ๐Ÿ™ˆ). The sun โ˜€๏ธ was hot, but the breeze kept it reasonable. The views were spectacular. Both poolside and of the Ocean. Gorgeous, the whole lot. It took us to the final day before we dragged our (incredibly fabulous ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿฝ) tushes down to the beach. Oops. It was beautiful as well, shocking, I know (how could it not be in a place like this?!). Water was freezing though, so I’m glad our only dips had been in the pool. โ›ฑ

Although we stuck pretty close to our homebase, we did get to see some beautiful landscape from Faro to Portimao (and from Portimao to Faro – different route back ๐Ÿ˜Š), try some Portuguese wines from all over the country, and walk and drive all over Portimao. Even from that little snippet, I’m a huuuuuuge fan of Portugal. I understand now why so many people enjoy thier visits here: good food (fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, olives, olive oil!!, oranges..), AMAZING wines (green wine?! why have I never heard of this before?! Soooo good!!), hot, sunny weather, and gorgeous scenery (and people ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜œ). I highly recommend for everyone to go (not that I’ve visited anywhere since our adventures here have started that I would not recommend people to go..haha ๐Ÿค”.  The world is a wonderous, beautiful place!!). 

Now back home and up for our next visitors. Never ends!! Can’t wait to see my lovely sis and aunt and show them around our new home!! โค๏ธโค๏ธ

๐Ÿ’‹tracy

Leave a Reply

