Slacking on Posts..oops..

Since I’ve dropped the ball this month on posts I have so much to catch you up on!! ๐Ÿ—’

First there’s been visitors!! ๐Ÿ‘‹ Of course. Because we live in a freaking fabulous place and are ridiculolusly fun people. ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿฝ I’d want to visit too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Mind you, I’m definitely one of those people that you really don’t want to invite to visit or travel with unless you mean it. ย The world ๐ŸŒŽ is a big place, chances are if I know someone living or going somewhere I’m going to try to join you. Why not, right?!

First Laura and Mike came. ๐Ÿ‘ซ Wow, do I love these people!! ๐Ÿ’– ย Laura and I have been friends for nearly 30 years. How ridiculous is that?? I’m quite sure she’s the longest commitment I’ve ever made. And I love her to death. โšฐ๏ธ ย Not to mention we’ve not lived in the same city since we were 10 (yes, we’ve stayed in touch even then!! We wrote letters!!!! โœ‰๏ธ Like real hand-written letters!! How adorable is that – and almost vintage-y, cos we’re old (you have to be if you’ve had a friend for 30 years..how’d we get so old?!?!). She’s the best. And every time we hang out I’m reminded yet again why we are friends. Just my kinda people. True friends. Anyways, enough of the mush (tearing up here ๐Ÿ’ฆ), Laura and Mike came out, and we had an amazing time!! Checkmarks were gluten-free foods ๐Ÿšซ (poor Mike – love you!!) and castles. ๐Ÿฐ ย Since I’ve decided not to drive ๐Ÿš™ here yet (maybe ever?? Opposite side of the road AND standard transmission AND roundabouts?? Umm…no thanks..) and Laura and Mike weren’t feeling likeย taking the wheel either, we were stuck to trains ๐ŸšŠ (very convient but still not as much as a vehicle..). ย This made castles slightly more difficult but we managed to get 5 in..not too shabby I think…

Highlights of our adventures included seeing my local ๐Ÿป (not sure this is actually a highlight for anyone besides myself..but I’m going to go with highlight), doing a 20km daytime walk ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿฝโ€โ™€๏ธaround Aberdeen: beach, Fittie – including Fittie Bar, of course, Torry Battery and lighthouse (no dolphins though๐Ÿšซ๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿ˜ฅ) and evening at Tippling House (how I roll – exercise and bevies, best kind of days!! ๐Ÿ’ชโž•๐Ÿบ), trained ๐Ÿš‚ to check out castles in Stonehaven and Dundee (I don’t even think most people here know this, but Dundee (and area) has 4 castles (we saw 3 – I feel like the other one doesn’t count – looks more like a manor house..but sure, call it a castle), saw Old Aberdeen and Balgownie, and saw the castle and got waste-cased in Edinburgh. Busy and fun-filled week with great people!!

Just case anyone is curious the castles we saw were Dunnotar (stunning and costal), Broughty Ferry (harbourside, beautiful drawbridge!!), Claypotts (in a residential area!!), Mains (gorgeous!! and popular wedding venue)ย and Edinburgh (very large!! and has the Crown Jewels of Scotland!!). ย Look em up. All completely different, all gorgeous!! Check and check. โœ”๏ธ Gluten-free food. Check and check and check. โœ”๏ธ For all those who have a serious gluten intolerance, come to the UK. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง ย Fish and chips, burgers and fries, Turkish, tapas, traditional, beer!! You can get it all, options everywhere!! Sometimes you have to look a bit, but it’s not hard, definitely come visit and eat to your hearts content!! Random drunken adventure – check. โœ”๏ธ I feel like this is kind of an unwritten rule you have to add to every checklist. Haha. Usually ends up happening anyways. And showing them Edinburgh turned into adventures in Grassmarket๐ŸŒพ and Cowgate๐Ÿฎ..Mike, you are an amazing drinking buddy. And Laura, how, you can have such a good time while still staying (relatively) sober and taking care of our drunk asses ๐Ÿ‘, is mind-blowing to me. Go team!! And great team we were!! Probably one of my best nights out here!! So much fun!! Pints and drinks in cool pubs, to making new 20-year-oldย (I swear they couldn’t have been older than that) French friends (from France, ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท we practiced our French, nbd, haha) who made our night very entertaining, to Irish ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช (I think??) sports pubs, to chippie shops ๐ŸŸ to heart to hearts and being so drunk you’re oblivious to your surroundings…oh my!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ These people are truly fantastic. The hangover the next day could also be described as fantastic but definitely not in remotely the same way. Kinda like death. ๐Ÿ˜ ย That way. ๐Ÿ’€โ˜ ๏ธ

I was so happy to show some of my besties where I live and hang out, and for them to meet a couple of my pals. Just wish I could’ve showed them more!! ย Come back again!!!! Miss you already!!!! ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

 

Next Sheeba and Mat. Never a dull moment with these two. We had chatted about them coming out for an adventure but no real plans were made..I look at my phone on Thursday morning before I hit the gym ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿฝโ€โ™€๏ธ (yep, still hitting it between the pints ๐Ÿบ, I’m trying to be more consistent, but hey, work in progress, right??), and see a message from Shelby tellling me to actually read my messages, that she sent me one in the middle of the night (my middle of the night, not hers). ๐ŸŒ™ Mat and her booked a flight, โœˆ๏ธ they’d arrive Friday am at 8:30.

Best kind of surprises!! We drove down to Glasgow to collect them (with a beautiful sunset ๐ŸŒ… on the way!! – we went down Thursday eve) and drove the long way up to let them see more of the country. Checked out Loch Lomond, Three sisters and Glen Coe on our way to Fort William for lunch (saw Ben Nevis of course, I feel like since it’s the biggest summit in Scotland, I should be impressed, but I think 3 sisters is way nicer..anyways..the whole country’s gorgeous, really), stumbled upon the Middle of Scotland by complete accident (driving down some 1-lane road in the middle of nowhere!!!!), and saw about 3 million sheep ๐Ÿ‘ before hitting the ‘Deen.

Whiskey distilleries ๐Ÿฅƒ and Dunnotar Castle were on their list ๐Ÿ“‹ so we checked out Glenfiddich (gotta pronounce the ‘ech’ sound, from the throat. Haha) then stopped by 3 bonus castles on the way home (Kildrummy, Craigievar and Fraser, all stunning – ruins, Disney (actually used as inspiration for the Cinderella castle!!)ย and full castle house with gardens – apparently popular wedding destination). Next day (after another wild night out ๐Ÿฅ‚โœ”๏ธ – weird how that happens..I’ll never look at kabab shops the same again!! ๐Ÿ˜˜) we did the sights of Aberdeen (the beach, Fittie, Torry – no dolphins again โ˜น๏ธ, Marischal College) and hit up Dunnotar at sunset. Freaking gorgeous. Just stunning. It’s always gorgeous, but extra so at sunset!! Still haven’t made it inside, but I’m sure I’ll have plenty of opportunities (been in Edinburgh 6 times – inside the castle only once..haha).

Their trip was much too short, and I wish we were either millionaires ๐Ÿ’ท๐Ÿ’ต or that the flights to join them in Malta weren’t so stupid expensive. We’ll just have to come up with another adventure soon!! Missing your beautiful faces, my friends!!

 

And now it’s my time to travel again. ๐Ÿ›ซ Not anywhere new, but somewhere definitely exciting!! CANANDA!!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Heading back home for a visit!! So funny, but both Aberdeen and Canada feel like home. So I start speaking about home, and mean either sometimes. But usually I’ll try to catch myself and make Canada ‘back home’ and Aberdeen ‘home.’ Either way, it gets confusing. So, I’m super pumped (everyone in Scotland laughs when I use this word, not sure why, so funny, they think it’s sooo North American, haha) to go ‘back home!!!!! Not sure what kind of adventures I’ll get up to on my visit home, but I’m sure there’ll be some stories..๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Can’t wait..


๐Ÿ’‹tracy

Leave a Reply

