Fit Like??

So week 2. Or is it 3..it tends to blur together..

Things are looking up. As predicted.  I’m making friends. Who has made friends in a new place as an adult?? It’s ridiculous. There’s something to be said for childhood friends. You’ve grown with them. You don’t have to go out, out of your comfort zone to find them. Think of approaching random strangers in hope you might find that you have something in common, that you might find someone that wants to expand the circle they already have to include a newbie.  It’s work. Especially without a workplace to give you common ground. But luckily, I’ve found a few. 👫👬👭

I feel like I have a good grip on the city centre, which is what they call downtown, and really makes much more sense than saying downtown (what’s it down from?? ↙️↘️ ). I am rarely getting lost now in this gothic land of Oz, which is nice. And I’m also not walking around, constantly staring down at my Google maps (mostly).📱 This place is really like a gothic fairytale..miles and miles of grey granite buildings..

I found a gym, 💪 which is pretty integral in my books. Not only for the overall health benefits, but mostly for the fact that it makes me feel human. Endorphins and adrenaline and mental health benefits and all of that fun stuff. Aberdeen Fitness and Combat Centre. Its weird training somewhere else, but it’s good to have the challenge.  Out of my comfort zone, which is pretty much the theme of my life right now.

I’m trying to get a grip on the vernacular. Almost daily I have to ask what the heck people are talking about. Examples off the top of my head: ‘On my todd’ – on your own; ‘Taking the piss’ – kidding around; ‘What’s the craic’ – pronounced ‘crack’ is what’s happening (or people will say things like ‘for the craic’ which is ‘just for fun;’ ‘Pesh’ – crap/total bs, although is can also just mean piss, as in going for one..; ‘Knackered’ – tired; ‘Fit like?’ – how are you?, but I’ve heard that less than I was expecting. Apparently it’s Doric. Which is a dialect?? I think.. And that’s the other thing that makes this all so confusing, every area, every town has their own dialect, their own slang, their own accent. 🤔  And here in Aberdeen, where most people are from somewhere else, nearly every person you talk to has a different sound.  And except for a few slip ups I have managed not to mock too many people.  After a couple pints, when everyone’s accents increase 10 fold and my inhibitions decrease 10 fold, I’ve definitely has some conversations where I stare creepily, smiling and repeat everything they’re saying..oops! 🙈😬

But people are good about it. Ridiculously friendly people. I thought Canadian’s were friendly. 🇨🇦  They’ve got nothing on the Scots. They’re loud, and they’re rowdy, but at the end of the day, they’re all really, really nice.

I seem to be settling in..

💋tracy

Leave a Reply

