Mony a Mickle Maks a Muckle

Apparently this means ‘many little things add up to a lot’ which seems ridiculously accurate when you’ve just packed up your life and are moving across the world..

I’ve lived my whole life in Manitoba, Canada, and until I hit that new early mid-life crisis that seems so popular with millenials or whatever they’re calling early 30-somethings these days, I never, ever wanted to move. But I needed a shake-up. And what better than a partner with a job offer across the pond. So I quit my job of 12 and a half years, sold my truck, put our house up for sale and made the plunge.

It would be a gross understatement to say that there was a bunch of ‘little’ things, but they’ve definitely added up to a lot. Packing up our house of 8 and a half years into storage (how did we accumulate so much stuff?? We are not savers!!), quitting my job (Massage Therapy), quitting my gym (TRX ๐Ÿ’ช), and my fight gym (kickboxing/muay thai and jui jitsu ๐Ÿ‘Š Ous), packing up our cat (why is there soooooo much paperwork?? – I know why, but stillllllll), dealing with the death of our beloved pup (and the love of my life, RIP Titan, ๐Ÿ’”๐Ÿ’”) right before I was scheduled to leave,ย and packing up all of my clothing into a couple suitcases (ok, 6, but who’s counting ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜) was more than a little stressful. But here I am, sitting in the Toronto Pearson International Airport, waiting for my delayed flight (because nothing seems to go smoothly..sigh) to take me to my new home in Scotland. Well to take me to Gatwick Airport, where I have to rent a car to drive the 9 hours to Aberdeen..cos like I said, nothing seems to go smoothly.. 9 hours with a 16lb nervous tabby…wish me luck!!

I’m sure he’ll do fine. A lot of ridiculous meows, but he’ll be fine. Or else. Kidding. Kinda…๐Ÿ˜

This is my first time travelling with a cat, well really any animal (by plane) and I had no idea that a cat on a leash was such a big deal..it seems normal cos anytime Totes leaves the house he’s on a leash. I’ve never had a cat before..I’m a dog person, so I just treated him like a dog..you put them on a leash..what’s the big deal?!? You’d think I was hanging with insert cool celebrity of the moment here. People gawked. People pointed. People smiled, said hi, and wanted to come close and touch him. Weird. Felt a little like the infamous little sister or something..not sure how to feel when your cat’s cooler than you are..not cool kitty, really not cool..๐Ÿ˜ธ

Since the flight is delayed and that means the only option is to find the closest bar and park my ass, I’ve had ample opportunity to get creepy with all the lovely accents around me..already. I promise I’m not trying to be a jerk but I just freaking love all these accents!! I feel like learning how to contain my ridiculous excitement whenever someone sounds different is a skill I’m going to have ย to learn quickly or I’m going to make a lot of ย people feel awkward in a hurry…wish me luck on that too..

So cheers (that’s right, right??)!! And thanks for reading!!

๐Ÿ’‹ tracy

One thought on “Mony a Mickle Maks a Muckle

Leave a Reply

